Tentative Calendar for Math 36600, Section P, Spring 2020

This calendar is extremely tentative, but should give a general idea of what topics we will cover.

Course Textbooks:

Date Tentative class plan:
Tue, Jan 28 Introduction to Python and Jupyter. Discussion of Python will follow Chapter 1 of LL.
Notebook: Starting up [download] [view] [azure]
Thu, Jan 30 More introduction to Python.
Notebook: Plotting Graphs [download] [view] [azure]
Tue, Feb 4 Finish introduction to Python
Numerical Representations and Errors following TAK Chapter 2.
Notebook: Number Representations [download] [view] [azure]
Thu, Feb 6 More on Numerical Representations and Errors.
Notebook: Interval Arithmetic [download] [view] [azure]
Tue, Feb 11 Discussion of Homework 2.
Notebook: Feb 11 2020 [download] [view] [azure]
Thu, Feb 13 Series expanding on following TAK § 1.4.
Notebook: Series [download] [view] [azure]
Tue, Feb 18 Series expanding on following TAK § 1.4.
Notebook: Taylor Series [download] [view] [azure]
Thu, Feb 20 Numerical Calculus following TAK Chapter 3.
Notebook: Numerical Differentiation [download] [view] [azure]
Tue, Feb 25 First Midterm.
Thu, Feb 27 More on Numerical Calculus.
Tue, Mar 3 More on Numerical Calculus.
Thu, Mar 5 Linear Equations following TAK Chapter 4.
Tue, Mar 10 More on Linear Equations.
Thu, Mar 12 More on Linear Equations.
Tue, Mar 17 Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors.
Thu, Mar 19 Perron-Frobenius Theorem and Google's PageRank.
Tue, Mar 24 Introduction to Classes following L Chapter 7.
Thu, Mar 26 Second Midterm.
Tue, Mar 31 More on Classes.
Thu, Apr 2 Random Numbers and Games following L Chapter 8.
Tue, Apr 7 Classes follow a Wednesday schedule
Thu, Apr 9 Spring break
Sat, Apr 11 Spring break
Tue, Apr 14 Spring break
Thu, Apr 16 Spring break
Tue, Apr 21 More on Random Numbers and Games.
Thu, Apr 23 More on Random Numbers and Games.
Tue, Apr 28 More on Random Numbers and Games.
Thu, Apr 30 Additional topics.
Tue, May 5
Thu, May 7
Tue, May 12
Thu, May 14

The final exam schedule has not been announced yet.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on February 17, 2020.
[ check html] [check css]