Tentative Calendar for Math 36500, Section EF, Spring 2022

This calendar is extremely tentative, but should give a general idea of what topics we will cover.

Course Textbooks:

Date Tentative class plan:
Mon, Jan 31 Welcome!
§ 0.1: What is Discrete Mathematics?
§ 0.2: Mathematical Statements
Wed, Feb 2 Finish § 0.2: Mathematical Statements
Mon, Feb 7 § 0.3: Sets
Start § 0.4: Functions
Wed, Feb 9 Finish § 0.4: Functions
Mon, Feb 14 Begin Chapter 1: Counting
§ 1.1: Additive and Multiplicative Principles
Wed, Feb 16 § 1.2: Binomial Coefficients
Mon, Feb 21 College closed
Wed, Feb 23 § 1.3: Combinations and Permutations
Mon, Feb 28 § 1.4: Combinatorial Proofs
Start § 1.5: Stars and Bars
Wed, Mar 2 Finish § 1.5: Stars and Bars
Review
Mon, Mar 7 First midterm.
Wed, Mar 9 Begin Chapter 2: Sequences
§ 2.1: Describing Sequences
Mon, Mar 14 Start § 2.2: Arithmetic and Geometric Sequences
§ 2.3: Polynomial Fitting
Wed, Mar 16 § 2.4: Solving Recurrence Relations
Mon, Mar 21 § 2.4: Solving Recurrence Relations
§ 2.5: Induction
Wed, Mar 23 Midterm problem redo.
§ 2.5: Induction
Mon, Mar 28 § 2.5: Induction
Wed, Mar 30 § 1.6: Advanced Counting Using PIE
Mon, Apr 4 Brief discussion of the Pigeonhole Principle (which appears in § 3.2)
Begin Chapter 4: Graph Theory
§ 4.1: Definitions
Wed, Apr 6 Finish § 4.1: Definitions
Mon, Apr 11 Review
Wed, Apr 13 Second midterm.
Mon, Apr 18 Spring Break
Wed, Apr 20 Spring Break
Mon, Apr 25 § 4.2: Trees
Wed, Apr 27 Start § 4.3: Planar Graphs
Mon, May 2 Start § 4.4: Coloring
Wed, May 4 Start § 4.5: Euler Paths and Circuits
Mon, May 9 Start § 4.6: Matching in Bipartite Graphs
Wed, May 11 Begin Chapter 5: Additional Topics
§ 5.1: Generating Functions
Mon, May 16

The Final Exam will be held online as scheduled by the college: Wednesday, May 18th from 1 to 3:15pm in our usual classroom.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on May 8, 2022.
[ check html] [check css]