Tentative Calendar for Math B4500, Section ST, Spring 2021

This calendar is extremely tentative, but should give a general idea of what topics we will cover.

Course Textbooks:

Date Tentative class plan:
Tue, Feb 2 Welcome!
Notebook: The Tent Map and the Cantor Set [download] [view]
Thu, Feb 4 Silva: § 2.1: Lebesgue Outer Measure
Silva: § 2.2: The Cantor Set and Null Sets
Tue, Feb 9 Silva: § 2.3: Lebesgue Measurable Sets
Silva: § 2.4: Countable Additivity
Dynamical construction of a non-measurable set
Thu, Feb 11 Silva: § 2.5: Sigma-Algebras and Measure Spaces
Silva: § 2.6: The Borel Sigma-Algebra
Tue, Feb 16 Silva: § 3.2-3.3: Measure Preserving Transformations
Finished Silva: § 2.6: The Monotone Class Theorem
Thu, Feb 18 Silva: § 2.7: Approximation with Semi-rings
Silva: § 3.4: Measurable transformations
Tue, Feb 23 Going over homework problems.
Thu, Feb 25 Silva: § 2.8: Measures from Outer Measures
Tue, Mar 2
Thu, Mar 4
Tue, Mar 9
Thu, Mar 11
Tue, Mar 16
Thu, Mar 18
Tue, Mar 23
Thu, Mar 25 Midterm.
Tue, Mar 30 Spring break
Thu, Apr 1 Spring break
Tue, Apr 6
Thu, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 13
Thu, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 20
Thu, Apr 22
Tue, Apr 27
Thu, Apr 29
Tue, May 4
Thu, May 6
Tue, May 11
Thu, May 13

The final exam schedule has not been announced yet.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on February 25, 2021.
[ check html] [check css]