Tentative Calendar for Math 36600, Section F, Fall 2020

This calendar is extremely tentative, but should give a general idea of what topics we will cover.

Course Textbooks:

Date Tentative class plan:
Wed, Aug 26 Introduction to Python and Jupyter. Discussion of Python will follow Chapter 1 of LL.
We covered how to start Jupyter, which is also discussed in the following notebook:
Notebook: Starting up [download] [view]
We also discussed some basic use of Python to do math. This material is also discussed in the following notebook:
Notebook: Basic math [download] [view]
Mon, Aug 31 More introduction to Python.
We'll discuss the Basic math notebook above, and begin discussing the following notebook:
Notebook: Plotting Graphs [download] [view]
Wed, Sep 2 Finish introduction to Python
Mon, Sep 7 No class: College Closed
Wed, Sep 9 Numerical Representations and Errors following TAK Chapter 2.
Notebook: Number Representations [download] [view]
Mon, Sep 14 More on Numerical Representations and Errors.
Wed, Sep 16 Interval arithmetic
Notebook: Interval Arithmetic [download] [view]
Mon, Sep 21 Series expanding on TAK § 1.4.
Notebook: Programming Concepts [download] [view]
Notebook: Series [download] [view]
Wed, Sep 23 Series continuing from last time.
Hand written notes on the estimation example from the Series notebook
Notebook: Interval arithmetic and series [download] [view]
Discuss Taylor Series
Notebook: Taylor Series [download] [view]
Mon, Sep 28 No classes scheduled
Tue, Sep 29 Classes follow a Monday schedule.
Finish discussion of Taylor Series
Wed, Sep 30 Numerical Differentiation following TAK § 3.2.
Notebook: Numerical Differentiation [download] [view]
A more careful discussion of error estimation:
Notebook: Numerical differentiation example [download] [view]
Mon, Oct 5 Numerical Integration following TAK § 3.3.
Notebook: Numerical Integration [download] [view]
Wed, Oct 7 Numerical Integration following TAK § 3.4.
Notebook: Numerical Integration 2 [download] [view]
Mon, Oct 12 No class: College Closed
Wed, Oct 14 More on Numerical Integration
Mon, Oct 19 Review. Come with questions. We could also discuss the Midterm Review:
Notebook: Midterm Review [download] [view]
Wed, Oct 21 Midterm.
Mon, Oct 26 Matrices and vectors in Numpy following LL § 2.3.
Notebook: Matrices and Vectors [download] [view]
Wed, Oct 28 Gaussian Elimination following TAK § 4.2.
Notebook: Gaussian elimination [download] [view]
Mon, Nov 2 Quiz 1.
LU Factorization (TAK § 4.3).
Notebook: LU Factorization [download] [view]
Wed, Nov 4 Quiz 2.
Differential Equations (TAK § 4.3)
Notebook: Differential Equations [download] [view]
Mon, Nov 9 Least Squares (TAK § 4.5).
Notebook: Least Squares [download] [view]
Wed, Nov 11 Quiz 3.
More on Least Squares
Mon, Nov 16 Quiz 4: On differential equations.
Dictionaries (L § 6.2).
Notebook: Dictionaries [download] [view]
Practice Problem on Least Squares
Notebook: Least Squares Problem [download] [view]
Wed, Nov 18 Quiz 5: On differential equations.
Importing from CSV files.
Notebook: Importing from CSV [download] [view]
Mon, Nov 23 Quiz 6: On Least Squares.
Eigenvalues (TAK § 4.6).
Notebook: Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors [download] [view]
Wed, Nov 25 No class: Classes follow a Friday schedule
Mon, Nov 30 Quiz 7: On Least Squares.
Random Numbers following L Chapter 8.
Wed, Dec 2 Quiz 8: On Dictionaries.
Monte Carlo Integration following L Chapter 8.
Mon, Dec 7 Quiz 9: On Eigenvectors.
Additional topics.
Wed, Dec 9 Quiz 10: On Monte Carlo Integration.
Review.

The Final Exam will be held online as scheduled by the college: Monday, December 14th from 3:30pm to 5:45pm.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on November 24, 2020.
[ check html] [check css]