Tentative Calendar for Math 36600, Section F, Fall 2020

This calendar is extremely tentative, but should give a general idea of what topics we will cover.

Course Textbooks:

Date Tentative class plan:
Wed, Aug 26 Introduction to Python and Jupyter. Discussion of Python will follow Chapter 1 of LL.
We covered how to start Jupyter, which is also discussed in the following notebook:
Notebook: Starting up [download] [view]
We also discussed some basic use of Python to do math. This material is also discussed in the following notebook:
Notebook: Basic math [download] [view]
Mon, Aug 31 More introduction to Python.
We'll discuss the Basic math notebook above, and begin discussing the following notebook:
Notebook: Plotting Graphs [download] [view]
Wed, Sep 2 Finish introduction to Python
Mon, Sep 7 No class: College Closed
Wed, Sep 9 Numerical Representations and Errors following TAK Chapter 2.
Notebook: Number Representations [download] [view]
Mon, Sep 14 More on Numerical Representations and Errors.
Notebook: Interval Arithmetic [download] [view]
Wed, Sep 16 Series expanding on TAK § 1.4.
Notebook: Programming Concepts [download] [view]
Notebook: Series [download] [view]
Mon, Sep 21 Series continuing from last time.
Hand written notes on the estimation example from the Series notebook
Notebook: Interval arithmetic and series [download] [view]
Discuss Taylor Series
Notebook: Taylor Series [download] [view]
Wed, Sep 23 Numerical Differentiation following TAK § 3.2.
Mon, Sep 28 No classes scheduled
Tue, Sep 29 Classes follow a Monday schedule.
Numerical Integration following TAK § 3.3.
Wed, Sep 30 Numerical Integration following TAK § 3.4.
Mon, Oct 5 More on Numerical Integration
Wed, Oct 7 Matrices and vectors in Numpy following LL § 2.3.
Mon, Oct 12 No class: College Closed
Wed, Oct 14 Gaussian Elimination following TAK § 4.2.
Mon, Oct 19 LU Factorization and Differential Equations (TAK § 4.3).
Wed, Oct 21 Midterm.
Mon, Oct 26 Further discussion of Differential Equations
Wed, Oct 28 Least Squares (TAK § 4.5).
Mon, Nov 2 More on Least Squares
Wed, Nov 4 Eigenvalues (TAK § 4.6).
Mon, Nov 9 Google's PageRank.
Wed, Nov 11 Dictionaries (L § 6.2).
Mon, Nov 16 Begin discussing classes following L Chapter 7.
Wed, Nov 18 Random Numbers following L Chapter 8.
Mon, Nov 23 Monte Carlo Integration following L Chapter 8.
Wed, Nov 25 No class: Classes follow a Friday schedule
Mon, Nov 30 Object-Oriented Programming following L Chapter 9.
Wed, Dec 2 Additional topics.
Mon, Dec 7 Additional topics.
Wed, Dec 9

The final exam schedule has not been announced yet.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on September 23, 2020.
[ check html] [check css]