Tentative Calendar for Spring 2019

This calendar is subject to change, but should give a general idea of when we will cover certain topics.
Date Tentative class plan:
Mon, Jan 28 A broad introduction to dynamical systems (roughly following Devaney's § 1.1)
Wed, Jan 30 § 1.2: Preliminaries from Calculus.
Discusion of rotations of the circle.
§ 1.3: Elementary definitions.
Mon, Feb 4 Worked through Sage notebooks related to topics covered so far.
Wed, Feb 6 More discussion of homeomorphisms of R.
Introduction to topological conjugacy. (Not introduced in the book until § 1.7).
§ 1.4: Hyperbolicity.
Mon, Feb 11 § 1.5: An example: the quadratic family.
Wed, Feb 13 § 1.5: An example: the quadratic family.
Mon, Feb 18 No class: CCNY is closed.
Wed, Feb 20 § 1.6: Symbolic Dynamics.
Mon, Feb 25 § 1.6: Symbolic Dynamics.
Wed, Feb 27 First Midterm.
Mon, Mar 4 § 1.7: Topological Conjugacy.
Please read § 1.8: Chaos.
§ 1.9: Structural Stability.
Wed, Mar 6 § 1.10: Sharkovskys Theorem.
Mon, Mar 11 § 1.10: Sharkovskys Theorem.
Wed, Mar 13
Mon, Mar 18
Wed, Mar 20
Mon, Mar 25 Discussed some of § 2.1: Preliminaries. (In particular Brouwer's Fixed Point Theorem and the Contraction Mapping Theorem.) You will want to read the rest of the section.
Wed, Mar 27 Discussed § 2.3: The Horseshoe Map
Mon, Apr 1 Second Midterm.
Wed, Apr 3 Finish discussion of the Horsehoe map. Begin discussion of linear maps following § 2.1 and § 2.2.
Mon, Apr 8 § 2.4: Toral automorphisms.
Wed, Apr 10
Mon, Apr 15
Wed, Apr 17
Mon, Apr 22 Spring break
Wed, Apr 24 Spring break
Mon, Apr 29
Wed, May 1
Mon, May 6
Wed, May 8
Mon, May 13 Third Midterm.

Final presentations will be held when our final exam is scheduled: 1-3:15pm on Wednesday, May 22nd.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on February 7, 2019.
[check html] [check css]