Tentative Calendar for Math A4500, Section PR, Spring 2017

This calendar is subject to change, but should give a general idea of when we will cover certain topics.
Date Tentative class plan:
Tue, Jan 31 A broad introduction to dynamical systems
Thu, Feb 2 § 1.3: Elementary definitions.
Demonstration of some other dynamical systems.
Tue, Feb 7 § 1.2: Preliminaries from Calculus.
Discusion of rotations of the circle.
Thu, Feb 9 Snow day (A makeup was scheduled by the college).
Tue, Feb 14 § 1.4: Hyperbolicity.
Introduction to topological conjugacy. (Not introduced in the book until § 1.7).
Thu, Feb 16 § 1.4: Hyperbolicity.
Tue, Feb 21 § 1.5: An example: the quadratic family.
Sage demonstration.
Thu, Feb 23 § 1.5: An example: the quadratic family.
Tue, Feb 28 First Midterm.
Thu, Mar 2 § 1.5: An example: the quadratic family.
Tue, Mar 7 § 1.6: Symbolic Dynamics.
Thu, Mar 9 § 1.6: Symbolic Dynamics.
Tue, Mar 14 Snow day (Smale's Lecture served as the makeup).
Thu, Mar 16 § 1.7: Topological Conjugacy.
Please read § 1.8: Chaos.
§ 1.9: Structural Stability.
Tue, Mar 21 § 1.10: Sharkovskys Theorem.
Thu, Mar 23 § 1.10: Sharkovskys Theorem.
Tue, Mar 28
Thu, Mar 30
Tue, Apr 4
Thu, Apr 6 Second Midterm.
Tue, Apr 11 Spring break
Thu, Apr 13 Spring break
Tue, Apr 18 Spring break
Thu, Apr 20 No class: CCNY Classes follow Monday Schedule
Tue, Apr 25 Discussed some of § 2.1: Preliminaries. (In particular Brouwer's Fixed Point Theorem and the Contraction Mapping Theorem.) You will want to read the rest of the section.
Thu, Apr 27 Discussed § 2.3: The Horseshoe Map
Tue, May 2 Finish discussion of the Horsehoe map. Begin discussion of linear maps following § 2.1 and § 2.2.
Thu, May 4 § 2.4: Toral automorphisms.
Tue, May 9
Thu, May 11
Tue, May 16
Thu, May 18 Third Midterm.
Fri, May 19 Make-up class. We'll have meetings about the presentations.

The final exam will be held on Thursday, May 25th from 1-3:15pm.
Relevant links:
Return to the course website
Last modified on May 12, 2017.
[check html] [check css]